• Help Support TNDeer:

Bank fishing catfish...what am I doing wrong?!!

Crow Terminator

Okay...cat fishing amateur here.

My setup thus far has been with cut bait - have been using white bass for cut bait if I can catch them, and if not, frozen skipjack. I haven't been able to get on any fresh skipjack so I have resorted to cheating and buying some at the bait store. I've got 9' heavy action rods with Abu Garcia 6500 reels with bait clickers. Throwing 3 to 5 oz "no roll" sinkers on a Carolina rig, with 8 to 10/0 circle hooks. Using Mustad demon fine wire circle hooks.

Okay the thing here is...I have been getting bites when I go. With my clicker on, I have had them hit so hard the rod bounce and then the clicker start going....I will engage the reel, still feel the fish on there, and start reeling...and every time, I will lose the fish. I have yet to get one to the bank or even a good hook up on them. I'm new to circle hooks but I know you're not suppose to jerk with them...aka do a bass fishing hookset. Everything I've read and saw on them says the fish hook themselves. Well that ain't been my luck thus far. It has started to get to me a little bit going out and doing the time, finally getting a good cutbait bite and then not getting a fish.

Any ideas? Heck, I had a fish the other day hit and start running to where I nearly lost my rod. I had it propped up on my tackle box while I was fishing for skipjack...but had forgot to push the button for the spool release. I had the clicker on but it wont work correct with the spool not released. I just so happened to see the rod jump and started towards it. Next thing I know, that rod is skating across the sidewalk (below Ft Loudon dam). I grabbed it just in time...and guess what...no fish.