• Help Support TNDeer:

Bore Sighting question

Bone Collector

I asked this in the general forum, but seems half are on there, half on here.

I am new to bore sighting and have never done it before. I recently bought one and it seemed simple enough, so i set it up and the .270 was as easy as pie assuming by following the instructions i did it right.

However I recently bought a new ML (CVA Acura) and topped it with a Redfield Revolution 3x9. i simply took the scope out of the box and mounted the same way that i have anytime before. Never had an issue. tonight i hooked up the bore sighter and it was pointing low and left. I adjusted the scope and move it over to center with no issue, but when i went to move the scope to bring the dot up, the scope bottomed out, or in other words ran out of room to make clicks up. the red dot or bore was still 2-3" below the cross hair.

what can i do to correct this?

Disclaimer - I don't know.

I would try a shot at a big target from about 10 yards. That would give some idea if there is a correlation between the bore sight, the scope, the gun, and reality.

Is your scope mounted with the "see under" rings which allow you to use your iron sights as well? I had an issue one time using this type of mount, since it elevated the scope so much off of the barrel I couldn't use a boresight for it.

Check your ring alignment, as you may have some variation in the rings, bases, or the top of the gun. Then shoot it and see where you are at. There is a possibility that you will have to lap or shim the rings to get the scope to where it needs to be.

2 simple, common things I can tell you after working for 8 years in a gun shop and mounting and boresighting more scopes than most ever will in their lifetime.

No.1: My initial inclination is that there is something wrong with your scope base and/or rings. Which leads me to ask what type of mount and rings are you using?