• Help Support TNDeer:

fishing below dams in winter?

Crosshairy

Is there anything you recommend targeting during the winter below TN river dams besides sauger? I'm specifically thinking about February and early March, which is sort of my "dead zone" for outdoor activities.

I was toying with the idea of doing a winter fishing run. I have a jon boat, or could bank fish. Just wondering if there are species you'd recommend targeting. I am a relative novice when it comes to the cold weather tactics.

Thanks for the ideas!

White bass, bluegill, crappie, small mouth, sauger, walleye, blue,flathead,channel cats... etc can be caught year around, they don't stop eating because it's cold, they may not eat as much or as aggressively as other times of year but they still have to eat.

Percy Priest is usually on fire that time of year...

Aquaholic":796pana5 said:
White bass, bluegill, crappie, small mouth, sauger, walleye, blue,flathead,channel cats... etc can be caught year around, they don't stop eating because it's cold, they may not eat as much or as aggressively as other times of year but they still have to eat.

I have caught several of those species in the boils, eddies, and pools below the dam in the spring. Do the tactics change in the winter time? I was thinking of just going and drifting shiners or something a little "slower", since I'm normally fishing artificial lures.

Aquaholic":1ryxiirp said:

What would you recommend putting in your tackle box to throw down there?

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

I fish jigs 99% of the time, flukes, sliders, electric chicken triple ripples, crappie magnets, trout magnets... From 1/64th oz to 1/2oz

Sent from my moto g(7) play using Tapatalk

Awesome time to catch skipjacks and then go after blues.

I took my nephew yesterday and we only had 3 skipjacks to cut up. He caught his PB blue but the small fish took their toll on my bait. The dams are spilling water from the flood gates right now and making it tough.