• Help Support TNDeer:

Help on the Watauga

tree_ghost

So I have a bachelor party/fishing trip planned for the first weekend in March on the Watauga River. We always have the option of the South Holston for a backup plan. We will be wading and using light spinning tackle for the most part. I have never fished this river so any advice on where to put in at or what might be a good bait would be appreciated. I know it's not the ideal fishing time of year but it's what we have to work with...

Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

South Holston has got to be my favorite river in TN. You'll have a good time. I don't know anything about spin fishing for trout, but if trout magnets work as good for trout as they do bream, I'd start there.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

That should be a real good time of year for tailwater trout. The water is a pretty consistent temperature year round and the crowds won't have shown up yet. On the South Holston, they'll be filling the lake, so you should get a good generation schedule for wading. They don't start filling Watauga until mid March, so the generation schedule may be a bit more up in the air for it.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

smalljawbasser":3f2zgikc said:
There are a literal ton of guides working both rivers these days. If it were me, I'd look into that. It'd be a lot more fun, and you wouldn't have to worry about anything.

This is the best answer yet. I live about 5 min from South Holston. More drift boats than you can count most times out, but they seem to catch fish. Not a ton of
public land around either river and the property owners can be very hateful. There are some public spots on both rivers though. The big ones are running the river to
spawn right now. Looks like Monday will work out for me :party: Hope to post some pics then