• Help Support TNDeer:

I was thinking..........

RUGER

2-Step Enabled
I guess this is one of many reasons I could never fish for a living. LOL

I was just thinking back about one body of water that I fish. It dawned on me that all my "good fish" (Over 5#) have come off of or VERY near points that face the open area of the lake. Textbook I guess, a point with deeper water very nearby.

I am thinking I might change my strategy this year.
Normally I just go to proven areas and start there and bang away and beat the bank through areas that have been "productive" in years / trips past.

I purchased a card to go in my depth finder this Winter that is basically a map of the entire lake with topo lines on it.
I am thinking my time would be better served (If I can figure out how to use the map) by going from point to point that are close to deeper water and skip the bank beating that produces 1-2 pound fish and never really anything larger.

Just kind of a Hmmmmmm type deal for me. :D

Good mapping software is a game-changer, I don't care what you're fishing for. Are you using Lakemaster, Navionics or Garmin? (They're all good, but I'm a Lakemaster guy).)
I'm not sure what the guy used to create the topo map but I am using a Hummingbird unit.
If I had a Lowrance I could have gotten the one with the entire lake mapped with side imaging.

I'm not sure what the guy used to create the topo map but I am using a Hummingbird unit.
If I had a Lowrance I could have gotten the one with the entire lake mapped with side imaging.
So what lake? Did you buy a card where an individual simply recorded his own map?
The standard Southeast Lakemaster card is about $100 and includes detailed mapping of all the major lakes. But if your talking about one of the TWRA lakes, they probably wouldn't be mapped in detail.