• Help Support TNDeer:

Medical kit

Omega

I had not seen this posted so I figured a reminder to be cautious and have a medical plan thought out. I keep a trauma kit in my hunting pack, well I have a few everywhere, that includes tourniquet, chest seal, airway tubes etc. If you get injured out there, the medics may not get to you on time, so it's best to be able to do self or buddy aid until help arrives. Stay Safe out there

I'm an old ER Nurse, so I'm more paranoid about injuries than most.
I have put together several trauma/med kits & keep one with me 24/7.
Tourniquet, bandage/dressing supplies. quick-clot dressings, pressure dressings, ace wraps, and super glue.
Yep, super glue.
Works like a charm on cuts. I've used it on myself for decades.
Cut my thumb thru the nail on a broadhead once while out in the middle of nowhere. Cleaned the wound, super glued it, hunted the rest of the weekend.

Have you got one that you'd recommend?

How about one for the truck, and one that ms more portable to carry with you?

Thanks, I'm pretty unfamiliar with said kits.

Having a tourniquet you practice with helps. Getting hands on with everything will make you even better than just having a kit.

The essentials he rattled off would be an excellent start, if you wanted to build one.

I need to start carrying one with me, but shaving down extra weight from non essentials seem to be the norm these days.

I have a survival/medical kit in both boats and both vehicles, but I rarely carry them with, this is a good reminder of how I can improve my safety.

Along with the chest seals, an emergency blanket, duct tape and hemostats would be a few others I'd add to a kit if wright wasn't an issue.

Yep, super glue.
Works like a charm on cuts. I've used it on myself for decades.