• Help Support TNDeer:

Walleye fishing...newby

Tenntrapper

I have been wanting to try walleye fishing, but don't really have a starting point. I have never fished for them, or even accidentally caught one. We live at Cherokee lake, and I've been told they are in there. Any suggestions on where to try, what kind of bait, etc. I know absolutely nothing about it. Thanks

To get started slow troll a live nightcrawler on a worm harness behind a 1/2 - 3/4 ounce weight rigged Carolina style. There are videos on line showing this and other methods.

I am NOT a walleye expert by any means. But I do know enough to be able to go catch a mess of them to eat when I get the hankering to go. I have never been able to figure the lake fish out, so my experience is just in dam tail waters. You'll want a little bit of waterflow. I catch most of mine near rock piles or isolated big rocks. Trolling and drifting. Have had great success on trolling crankbaits like Bomber Long As and Rapala Shad Raps in the 2 to 3 inch body sizes. Same goes for trolling 3 inch grubs on jig heads. I like to use 2 jigheads and grubs spaced about 10 inches apart, and two different color grubs. Some days they will hit any color. Some days all your bites may just come on one color. Some times you can't keep other fish off your lures long enough to catch walleye. If white bass and drum are running, they can be fun to catch but a pain when you are specially going for walleyes. It's boring trolling and or drifting but it gets the job done. I like winter time best. The colder, the better.