• Help Support TNDeer:

Yamaha 4 stroke

TRIGGER

I test drove a boat I'm thinking about buying today that has a Yamaha 4 stroke 225 on it. AMAZING a how quiet the motor is. Without seeing the pee steam and exhaust bubbling you wouldn't know its running. Anyone have any experience with these? Have heard good things and was impressed by how it runs.

The only thing I know is they are very quiet. We were fishing on the dock one evening and an older guy tied his boat off to the dock to go get his truck/trailer and I had no idea it was even running until he just jumped in backed the thing up. Very nice motor.

I can't speak to the 225, but I have been running Yamaha 4-strokes since 2006. With the exception of getting some dirty gas and clogging a fuel filter one time, I have never had a moment's problem. Turn they key, they start. End of story. :super:

Buy it. I had a 40 on a Jon boat with no issues, now have a 90 on the toon. They are just about bomb proof. Only motor I will have.

Sent from my XT907 using Tapatalk

What year F225? If it is an 06 or older, have the exhaust tube below the powerhead checked for corrosion - or pass on it. 07 & newer should be ok. Ask me how I know (6k repair bill).

Google "Yamaha F225 exhaust corrosion"

Gvit":2iqh14t1 said:
What year F225? If it is an 06 or older, have the exhaust tube below the powerhead checked for corrosion - or pass on it. 07 & newer should be ok. Ask me how I know (6k repair bill).

Google "Yamaha F225 exhaust corrosion"

This motor is an 07.

If it were me, I'd have it checked out my a Yamaha Mechanic (one that knows what to look for). It may cost $150 or so but if you're serious about the boat, it would be money well spent.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk