• Help Support TNDeer:

Electronics help please!

Spurhunter

Ok guys, my new to me boat came with a Lowrance x51 flush mounted at the console that obviously has to go. But, I have a Garmin 500C that I really like that will go right in perfectly for 2D sonar at high speeds. No problem there. It also came with a Hook7 Chirp at the bow with down imaging and a map card slot. Everything I read says the processor speed is too slow and lake maps won't keep up above 20 MPH. I'll have the Garmin 500C at the console for 2D sonar, and I want to add a good GPS/side imagining unit there that accepts map cards. I would like to have down imaging at the bow with GPS. I think I want the units linked up so I can mark a fish or spot on side imaging at the console and go back to it with the bow unit. I don't think the Hook7 will link up to another unit. If it would that would solve some of the problem and I could leave it on the bow. I am really new to all this technology. What would you do?

Entirely depends on how much money you're looking to spend...

A newer Humminbird Helix or Solix with Lakemaster maps would be my first choice. If that's more than you're itching to spend, I could be satisfied with a used unit running Navionics maps.

yeah depends on the cash you want to let loose.

the hook 7 cant share waypoints with other units, by a connection such as ethernet or nmea2000. BUT, you can transfer waypoints to an sd card and plug that sd card in another unit and transfer the waypoints to the other unit. takes 3 menu clicks and about 1 minute tops.

as far as NMEA 2000 waypoint sharing for units like the Lowrance elite ti totalscan, yes they will share waypoints AS LONG AS BOTH UNITS ARE POWERED ON when the waypoint was created.