• Help Support TNDeer:

Looking for a teacher

HotelDelta

Hello, I'm new to hunting and I don't know where to go or how to break down what I'm looking to catch. I want to go rabbit and coon hunting this season and if anyone is willing to teach I would love to learn. I live in Nashville but I'm okay with driving an hour out. It's a crying shame I grew up in the city and my dad didn't teach me any of this stuff. Finding someone to show me the ropes has been infuriatingly difficult.
I'm not new to firearms though. I've got rifles and shotguns. I've got the scent away, the camo, whistles. I've probably got all the gear, just really want a hands on instructor.

Last edited:
Hello, I'm new to hunting and I don't know where to go or how to break down what I'm looking to catch. I want to go rabbit and coon hunting this season and if anyone is willing to teach I would love to learn. I live in Nashville but I'm okay with driving an hour out. It's a crying shame I grew up in the city and my dad didn't teach me any of this stuff. Finding someone to show me the ropes has been infuriatingly difficult.
YouTube should be your best friend then. Coon hunting will be tough without a dog. Honestly rabbit hunting will be as well.

I did watch some YT videos on how to clean a rabbit but videos only go so far. Really need hands on experience. I've seen some videos of coon and rabbit hunting w/o dogs and it doesn't look to hard but obviously looks can be deceiving lol

You may want to post a little more about yourself. Have you taken hunters ed, do you own a gun, what kind, have you even shot a gun? Or, are you completely green and are looking for someone to get you started?