• Help Support TNDeer:

Food Plots Is this right?

lol

I'm new to this. I broadcast wheat, cereal rye and crimson about 2 weeks ago. Haven't had much rain. Stopped by today to look and I've got some stuff coming up. Does this look like what I planted or something else?
1000014730.webp

Looks real good to me; especially if that is near Monroe county since we haven't had hardly any rain here on the east side. I'm not far from to Monroe; and forecast for me is 3-4 inches this week. Would expect your plot to really take off after that.

Looks real good to me; especially if that is near Monroe county since we haven't had hardly any rain here on the east side. I'm not far from to Monroe; and forecast for me is 3-4 inches this week. Would expect your plot to really take off after that.
Good deal. I overseeded a bit today before the gully washer they're predicting. That field is along a creek bottom and has a spring that seeps through the middle of it, its not enough to flow but it gets mushy if you drive through it. I wasn't expecting it to start growing so soon, the spring looked like it had dried up quite a bit, but I think it may be keeping the soil moist underneath and just evaporating at the surface. A little up the hill I didn't have anything growing yet so that's got to be the reason.

I'd be over-joyed if my plot looked like that! To answer your first question yes, its what you broadcast. Only see a few weeds - but that's not necessarily a bad thing.
Awesome! I wasn't sure what I was looking at. As far as the weeds, there was no way I could get rid of all of them. I sprayed 3 times over 6 weeks beforehand but it only knocked out about 90%. Across the creek from this I've got about an acre of so of ragweed I've left standing. They were tearing it up so I didn't want to take away something they were eating. I'm hoping next year I can get some equipment in there and do it right with a drill after a good nuking.