• Help Support TNDeer:

Watering Tomatoes - how much and how often?

TN Song Dog

Need advice from those of you who grow nice and big magazine quality tomatoes. How should I water? We just have a few in a small raised bed, but im not doing it right. We have quantity but not good size. Also some are split from excess watering or the big rains we had a couple weeks back. Any advice is welcome.

Attachments

• 20240717_114512.webp
    20240717_114512.webp
    572.2 KB · Views: 1
I'm a produce farmer so I've grown 10s of thousands. Here's my advice.

Keep the ground wet as possible from bloom until the first fruits ripen, you should be able to easily stick your entire index figure into the soil during this time. After that I try and keep good ground moisture but not soggy. Basically replace the 1/2" of ground moisture lost daily in 90 degree weather.

If you want large fruit first off you need genetics, second you need a large healthy plant. You can also prune clusters to only 3 tomatoes. Use 5x more fertilizer than you're used to. I send 20-20-20, potassium nitrate and calcium nitrate through drip irrigation at 1oz per gallon every 3rd day one at a time until ripening occurs.

There are tons of new varieties that won't split if you start your own plants that still have good flavor. Any of the "mountain" cultivars I've found to be good choices for vine ripe.

If you're growing heirlooms or an outdated hybrid such as better boy, pick fruit at first blush and let them ripen in a tomato box with lid to prevent dehydration and they will be 95% of the quality of completely vine ripe with no splits, heat cracks, etc.

Or just cut around them and enjoy.