• Help Support TNDeer:

What is the best seed for a food plot?

smyrnagc

I am thinking ahead for next year and want to plant some food plots on some property and was wondering what is the best seed for planting to attract deer?

If possible, we would like something that is planted maybe in the spring and that will last deep into deer season. If not the spring then maybe late summer.

I am new to this and would like to hear from you guys that have already blazed this trail and are successful in bringing in deer to your property.

Thanks

If you are planting smaller plots, I would suggest planting white clover. There are several variations that work great. I mix ladino and durana. You plant them once and they will last a few years with proper fertilization and weed and grass control. You can also rotate crops. I have one plot that stays in clover and the others are rotated with corn and soybeans for the spring and summer and the oats and brassicas in the fall and winter. All of these variations work well at attracting deer. I try to plant plots close to thick bedding areas to increase chances of seeing older bucks during daylight. I also try and plant plots that will keep deer out of sight of neighboring properties. Good Luck.

I plant products from the Whitetail Institute. Yes, alot of guys just go to the coop and get their seed and I used to. That was until I planted it side by side. Their seed is already preinoculated and I have had good luck with all that I have tried. I am fond of their imperial clover. Side by side it definately had more grazing that regular ladino. If you just doing small plots then the cost isnt too bad but if you are doing food plots on a larger scale then maybe its not very cost effective. No I do not in any way work for them. Just really like their products. I really believe they have done their research when it comes to food plots. I have 3 of their clover plots that are going on 4 yrs old and are still going very strong.